Mother’s Day Turkey

May 8, 2016

Every year, I begin watching for turkey poults (chicks) around the middle of May, and by the time I finally get a glimpse of them, they soon disappear into the tall grass of our fields and prairie. This year, I’m trying something different. I identified a favorite feeding area of one of our hens, and I’ve been keeping the grass trimmed in that area with the brush hog. I can see the mown area with my binoculars, from my living room, and the hen seems to enjoy the shorter grass as she is always out pecking for bugs and taking dust baths in the little half-acre patch. I even throw some corn out for her once in awhile if I remember.

This morning, in honor of Mother’s Day, I headed down to the patch, with my turkey chair and cut-leaf camo, a little before daylight to get a closer look. At about 7:30 AM I watched as the hen exited a brush fence row, where I assume (hope) she had been sitting on her eggs. She made a beeline for the designated “poult viewing area” and began preening and stretching.

I watched the hen for about 30 minutes without releasing the shutter one time. I didn’t want to scare her with any movement or noise; I just wanted her to get used to my blind set-up. Although she looked my way a couple of times, she didn’t seem too worried about my presence. After another 15 minutes or so, the hen began to forage at the periphery of the shorter grass and as she stepped into a taller patch of weeds I made the featured image.

As always, I waited until the hen had completely disappeared from the area before I pulled up stakes. I’ll be checking on her again from time to time, and I might even set up a pop-up blind to allow myself some movement when it comes time to photograph the poults. If I do get a shot of those cute little baby turkeys, I promise to share them here.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Feel free to email me any time at:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

If you would like to see more of my images, check out my website here:  Gallery of Images

 

One comment on “Mother’s Day Turkey”

  1. At last, a subject which I think I have actually seen!


Leave a Reply

