Missouri Gobbler at Red Sunrise

April 9, 2016

I made some nice images of a gobbler here at the farm this morning on its favorite strutting ground. It has been windy for two straight weeks so it was a great morning to be out.

 

BR8I1548

An eastern wild turkey struts in the reddish light of a cold spring morning.

 

BR8I1607

Close-up detail of the spectacular bird.

 

BR8I1609

An interesting pose, as the sun cooperated perfectly with the brassy feathers of the boss gobbler. Note to photographers:  Every image on this page was taken at “0” saturation. As I’ve said before, it’s best to let nature take care of color on its own. It’s rarely necessary to help it along in post-processing. Contrast is at “-1” which is my standard setting.

 

BR8I1616

A nice look at the beard.

 

BR8I1559

A final shot.

Oh what a glorious morning it was! Thank you ole boss, for giving me some images and memories that will last a long while. Now it’s time to get back to those colorful, migrating warblers. Images to come shortly.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

Gallery of Images:  Danny’s Website

 

9 comments on “Missouri Gobbler at Red Sunrise”

  1. Superb use of light..remarkable images.

  2. It is called a snood. It is there to attract the ladies, among other things.

  3. Outstanding series. Love the first and last shots. I hope to see, possibly capture, some of this activity – when winter lets goes away.

  4. The colors are incredible and a good reminder about the helpful effect of early light. I thought I was a photographer, albeit an amateur, until I read your comment about setting saturation and contrast in the camera. Can you explain that. Thanks.

    • Terry — I use a Canon 1D Mark IV camera and process in Canon’s DPP program. The raw files that I shoot interface with the program so that I can set saturation and contrast and other settings in the camera and they will be reflected in the JPG or TIF output in DPP. The slider settings in the raw images can also be changed in DPP so it is not really necessary to set them in a particular way in the camera but it helps my shooting. I hope this helps. Email me at my nature frames address and we can talk more if you like. I hope this helps!

  5. Thank you Danny, for all those Beautiful images of a wild Turkey. I only wish that I too see some up close this seasonal.

    Art


Leave a Reply

