A Contrast in Coyotes

December 30, 2015

As many of you know, it has been a bit soggy here at our farm near Union, Missouri. It rained for 2.5 days non-stop and the final recording on my rain gauge was 11.25 inches! During a brief respite from the deluge, which lasted only 30 minutes or so, I looked out the window and saw this healthy coyote in its thick, winter coat hunting voles in our back field. I scrambled for my camera and bellied out onto the deck to capture this image. As you can see, the wily critter was wise to my shenanigans. The sky was overcast and my shutter speed was slow, but I somehow managed to get a decent shot of the gorgeous creature.

It wasn’t long before another coyote appeared from behind the tall Indian grass of our prairie and caught up with the first. The second coyote was riddled with mange (see below) making for a dramatic juxtaposition of the animals, one healthy and one miserable.

DJB_FRM_2015_1857

Fortunately for the coyote in the foreground, it has been a mild winter, but the weather in Missouri can change overnight and the poor critter is obviously not equipped for frigid conditions. I don’t typically see coyotes running together like this; I suspect the mangy one might be an offspring of the larger animal.

Thanks to everybody who has emailed, texted and Facebooked to ask us how we are doing in this historic weather event. We live high on a hill in Franklin County so we are fine. Those in low lying areas of our town and county weren’t so lucky and it has been a kick in the gut to see our flooded town on the national news every night. As the rivers recede, the rebuilding will begin and stories of people helping each other in their greatest time of need will abound.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

Gallery of Images:

www.dannybrownphotography.com

 

 

 

 

 

10 comments on “A Contrast in Coyotes”

  1. Happy to hear you and at least one coyote are doing well!

  2. Here’s wishing you a happy, healthy, peaceful and productive 2016. Thanks for giving us so many wonderful images! These coyotes seem to represent life itself…a little good and a little bad…but all running together!.

  3. I am glad that you are high and dry Danny. I hope that life gets back to normal soon, in Union. Beautiful shot of that magnificent Wylie Coyote. I hope that you and Joyce have a Happy New Year.

    Art

  4. Danny, Happy New Year! And thanks for all the great images this past year. I really enjoyed the latest coyote photos. The contrast of a vibrant animal versus a sick one is very dramatic. I haven’t been doing much wildlife photography this past year. Maybe that should be a New Year’s resolution. Irene and I took a 2-week river cruise in November from Amsterdam to Budapest. I took around 2,000 stills and 200 video clips for an eventually photo book and trip movie. The culling and editing will be a couple of projects that will keep me busy most of the winter. I upgraded to a 70D before the trip mostly because of the video capability and higher resolution so I can save more images that are heavily cropped. I’ll keep the 40D as a backup. While on a British Columbia cruise this past spring on my brother’s 40’ boat, the 40D took a dive 5’ to the deck in 8’ seas (only hour of rough water we had the whole 2-week trip). Luckily I had a 1.4x teleconverter between the camera and 300mm lens. Two of the three metal flanges broke off the teleconverter, but the lens survived without any damage (hooray!), and the 40D now has a visible crack in the body near the lens mount (I was able to bend it back into shape on my own). It doesn’t affect camera functionality and image quality, but it’s obvious enough that it would make it difficult to sell. So much for the trials and tribulations of an amateur photographer.

    Keep the images coming in 2016. Stay dry….Phil

    >

  5. Danny – do you still see the mangy coyote? We have a program that could help him. Details on our website at wildlifehotline.com/mange. It’s a terrible way to die, especially when it’s so easy to treat. But you have to know that the coyote is going to come though that area again to get the medicine. Just thought I’d let you know.
    -Angel Wintrode, Bi-State Wildlife Hotline


Leave a Reply

