Prairie Whitetail (Shaw Nature Reserve)

November 6, 2015

Lately I’ve been spending most of my camera time between the farm and Shaw Nature Reserve, in search of whitetail images. The rut is in full swing right now so I have my best chance of catching a bruiser buck off guard. I’m always in search of great doe images, as well, and this week I’m featuring a shot from a few years ago when I ran into one in the Indian grass at Shaw Nature Reserve.

I made this image on a misty morning along one of the trails on the area. As you can see, the doe froze when she spotted me and she held her position long enough for me to deploy my gear from my shoulder. The shot was strongly angled into the sun as indicated by the wash of light on the doe’s right rear flank and tail. Fortunately, her right eye caught some of the soft light and tail flag benefited from a bit of rim-lighting.

After the doe came to her senses and wheeled around 180 degrees for a quick departure, I checked the LCD with cautious optimism. I was pleasantly surprised and couldn’t wait to get home to check out the image, which later won a national photo contest.

I plan to be back at Shaw Nature Reserve this week, watching for whitetails in the tall grass, which has taken on a gorgeous chestnut color with the cool days of autumn. If I have any success, I’ll be sharing the results here.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

Gallery of Images and Print Information:  Danny’s Website

6 comments on “Prairie Whitetail (Shaw Nature Reserve)”

  1. This is a magical image, worth its weight in the diamonds that you’ve caught, sparkling all around the doe! Thank you.

  2. No surprise about the contest win; it’s just stunning.

  3. This is a fantastic image. From the soft, colorful grass in the foreground, to the perfectly backlit tail.


Leave a Reply

