The Faces of Nature

July 31, 2015

A pair of coyote pups, riddled with mange, pause from scratching and playing just long enough for the click of a shutter. It has been several years since I photographed these ravaged pups over a period of several days on a farm in St. Charles County. I often was so disturbed about their condition, I didn’t even feel like shooting. When I finally left them, this was the only photograph that seemed appropriate to share, the others too graphic in revealing their disease. I ran the image with a story in my weekly newsletter/email at that time, but I’m sharing it again for new readers. The sad, playful curiosity in the right pup’s eyes gets me every time.

I’ll never forget how these golden pups frolicked, play-hunted and called to each other with high-pitched howls, even though they were obviously miserable. Later that year, in late fall, I saw one again as a young adult. Its coat was none-the-better for its age, and I wondered if it might make it through the winter. I gave it a nod as it watched me from a hillside, not more than 50 meters away, and that was the last I ever saw of either of them.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

Gallery of Images/Prints:  Here

4 comments on “The Faces of Nature”

  1. I remember your post about these mangy kits…I wonder if they have survived, and how they are….

  2. Your compassion for these little guys is striking. I would love to photograph our local wild canines, but here they are considered vermin and shot with impunity so all I ever really get to see is them running away – makes this image all the more poignant. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    • Thanks Christy. Coyotes are hunted and trapped in Missouri, as well, with close monitoring of their population status.


Leave a Reply

