Scissor-tailed Flycatchers

June 19, 2015

Recently while in Oklahoma, I had the pleasure of photographing a few scissor-tailed flycatchers. Once we realized the herons and egrets wouldn’t be feeding at the Keystone Dam, my friend Mike suggested we drive some county roads in search of Oklahoma’s impressive state bird with its crazy long tail. It wasn’t long before Mike put me up close and personal with this fella, who was resting on a tree branch near the Arkansas River. Later, when I reviewed the image, I was taken by the cream color of the bird’s head and body. I’ve rarely seen such a beautiful, yet neutral color shade on a bird. And how about that salmon color on its flanks—gorgeous!

 

DJB_DBR_2015_0965

This image is of another scissor-tailed flycatcher, photographed a few days ago right here in Missouri. I’m not a fan of photographing birds on wires but I couldn’t resist sharing this image to give you an idea of the actual tail length on one of these extraordinary birds. The Cornell website, “All About Birds” refers to the tail as “absurdly long.” When in flight, scissortails remind me of a tiny kite—not the bird, but an actual kite.

 

DJB_WMR_2012_0501

The final image is of a juvenile scissortail, as indicated by the short tail, that I photographed in the Wichita Mountains of southern Oklahoma. I’d been camping down there with the “Mikes” and I made this image while photographing prairie dogs at first light. I’ve always wished it would have been an adult in flight instead of a juvenile but sometimes we take what we can get and go home happy.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Gallery of Images:  Here

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

2 comments on “Scissor-tailed Flycatchers”

  1. Oooooooh! What a great image that is. I often wish I could see the images you “pass over” before selecting one for your blog.


Leave a Reply

