Dickcissel at Sunset (Dunn Ranch Prairie)

June 4, 2015

A dickcissel enjoys a fiery sunset at The Nature Conservancy’s Dunn Ranch Prairie.

Note:  Due to the increased volume of images I’ve been making, I’ll be sending out extra editions of Nature Frames as new captures come in. I know many of you don’t use Facebook so you miss out on the images I post there. In the future, I’ll try to post most of those images in blog form so everybody can see them.

I was at Dunn Ranch Prairie a few days ago in a follow-up to my earlier collaboration with Nature Conservancy (TNC) folks to photograph some of the wildlife on the area, including prairie chickens and bison. Joyce and I had just finished setting up camp when I noticed the dazzling sunset over the prairie. I jumped in the 4Runner and headed down the road in search of a nice image. I was hoping for an upland sandpiper on a fence post but found this dickcissel instead.

My subject was very cooperative for this image, which was taken with a 500 mm lens from a tripod in the middle of the road. If you are wondering if I “juiced” the image in post processing to get the amazing colors, the answer is “no.” Saturation was set on zero for this shot so the result was all Mother Nature. As I’ve said in the past, “All you have to do to see these kinds of scenes is to go outside at the fringes of the day and wait for the magic!”

Over the next week or so, I’ll share some more images from my second trip to Dunn Ranch Prairie, and explain why we had to break camp at 4:15 a.m the next morning! By the way, if you like bison babies, stay tuned here.

Some of you might be thinking of taking a trip to beautiful Dunn Ranch Prairie since I’ve been talking about it so much. Well, you are in luck because the TNC staff, along with the Missouri Department of Conservation is having an open house at Dunn Ranch this month. The event will include bird walks, bison walks, and much more. They are even going to allow primitive camping for the event. You can learn all about it right here.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

 

8 comments on “Dickcissel at Sunset (Dunn Ranch Prairie)”

  1. I’m glad it was such a productive trip that we get bonuses!

  2. Beautiful Danny, I love the warm GLOW. Great Image. Thank’s for sharing. I can’t wait to hear why You and Joyce had to break camp so early the next morning. I can only imagine.

    Art

  3. That one is particularly stunning.

  4. Absolutely stunning! Love that it is sitting on barbed wire, too!


Leave a Reply

