Art from Fire

June 2, 2015

The prairie at Shaw Nature Reserve was in an artsy mood last week when I took a hike on a cool, foggy morning. The charred stems from last year’s prescribed burn stood proudly in the tall grass, irresistible to songbirds as spires from which to sing. The featured image is of a tree swallow almost appearing to grow out of one of the stick-ups in a field of spiderwort. My friend, Helen, found the perch and swallow to remind her of a sculpture, perhaps a bronze, emerging from the prairie forbs.

 

DJB_SNR_2015_0673

I couldn’t pass on this image as the same swallow landed on the high note of a descending series of prairie stems. At that point, it occurred to me how much “Art from Fire” can be found on the SNR prairie if you take some extra time to look at the big picture.

 

DJB_SNR_2015_0675

The final image shows a common yellowthroat surveying the prairie from a copse of stately stick-ups. The spider webs added a nice touch to the scene.

Although I’m always on the lookout for wildlife close-ups that reveal intricate detail in feather and fur, it was nice to document another aspect of Nature’s art on that dreary morning at Shaw Nature Reserve. I’m sure glad I didn’t roll over and go back to sleep when the alarm went off that day.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.Com

 

10 comments on “Art from Fire”

  1. Heard the music and appreciated the art 😀

  2. Beautiful pictures!

  3. Very nice, Danny. These simple and beautiful shots, placed me along side of you, enjoying the prairie too! Thanks!

  4. These are stunning. I love them! Reminds me of Jane Fulton Alt’s “Burn Project” in a way…

  5. Stunning. I love these. Reminds me of Jane Fulton Alt’s “Burn Project” in a way…


Leave a Reply

