Trumpeters: Part II

December 31, 2014

Trumpeter swans usually appear angelic to me with their sprawling white wings, graceful necks and gentle demeanor. But as you can see from this week’s featured image, the stereotype doesn’t always hold true. I captured this swan just as it touched down and proceeded to attack an unsuspecting comrade. My guess was the altercation involved a female but how could I be sure? The fracas didn’t last long—they never do—and all were friends again after 10 seconds.

The second image depicts a more typical scene of the giant waterfowl on a sunny, Saturday morning at Riverlands. The peek-a-boo moment on the right made the shot for me.

BR8I2752

Sometimes trumpeter swans can be plain goofy as they preen and posture. I caught the individual below in a very awkward position as it minded its plumage. I thought it was an amusing shot and I hope you like it, as well.

DJB_RVL_2014_1322

Most of the time, when I’m photographing trumpeter swans, I also encounter hooded mergansers. Hoodies are so tiny that they rarely come into range of my 500mm lens but every once in a while I get a nice capture like the one below. The reflection made the shot a keeper.

DJB_RVL_2014_1301

That’s my report from my most recent visit to Riverlands Migratory Bird Sanctuary. By next week, I suspect I will have moved on to the next location to find more natural moments in Missouri’s great outdoors. Hoping for some snow!

Happy New Year!

DB

All images captured with a Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 Lens; Gitzo 3530 LS Tripod w/Wimberley II Gimbal Head

Email me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.Com

6 comments on “Trumpeters: Part II”

  1. Enjoyed the images very much on the last day of this year. 😀

  2. Wow, what a New Year’s gift! These images are fantastic! From the angelic postured, peek-a-boo, and water aerobic trumpeters to the clear and pristine image of the hooded merganser, I am having a difficult time choosing a favorite. What awesome work by such a talented photographer! I only wish I would have felt better the day you went and captured these. If this is what retirement does for you, I can’t wait to see what is in store for us throughout the new year! Happy New Year, Danny and thanks for doing what you do!

  3. Happy New Year to You Danny, and Joyce as well. I also love to observer Trumpeter Swans I hope that I get the chance this . January, to do just that, at Lock n Dam # 24. Thank’s for sharing. Looking forward to what you will offer in the New Year. Have a good one.

    Art


Leave a Reply

