Ducks!

December 16, 2014

I confess I’ve been remiss in posting duck photos lately, which is unusual for this time of year. This waterfowl season has been spectacular, and the harvest has been plentiful. Although most of my “duck hunting” occurs during the spring migration long after the hunting season, I always try to get out in mid-winter as well. Maybe this year I’ll get that “duck in a snowstorm” image I’m always after.

I’ll be pulling from the archives this week as I was down for 2.5 weeks with the nasty flu everybody has been talking about. Joyce had it too, but not as bad because she was smart enough to get a flu shot. At one point, I whined to her, “I wish you weren’t so sick so you could take care of me.” Give me a break though; I was delirious for most of those two weeks. When I finally emerged from the chasm of suffering, I faced two more weeks of extreme overcast here in Missouri. I think I’ve gone longer without firing a shot from my Canon’s cannon than ever before!

The featured image is an extreme close-up of a drake hooded merganser at Marais Temps Clair Conservation Area. I made the shot just as I was gathering my gear to leave. The drake dropped in, practically in my lap, with no concern for my shuffling around. Although the hooded merganser is one of our most striking ducks when dry, I was pleased to get this alternative image of one right after it surfaced from a dive.

The next image is a hen, hooded merganser in the unique, golden light of Riverlands Migratory Bird Sanctuary. It goes without saying that the colors of the bird compliment the soft glow of the Riverlands awakening.

DJB_RVL_2010_1231

The third image is of a drake, common merganser, just as it is about to finish off its prize of a huge shad on the Mississippi River near Dresser Island. A skirmish unfolded soon after so I wasn’t able to capture the fish going down. Skirmishes are the rule when common mergansers are feeding, and their adversaries are often white pelicans. You can guess who usually wins in those encounters.

DJB_RVL_2011_74

The final image is of a hen, common merganser on a most windy day at Riverlands. The shooting was nearly impossible due to lens chatter, and the light was raw but I made a few decent images, including this one where the hen turned her back to the wind just long enough for an interesting capture.

DJB_RVL_2011_80

That’s all for this week, but I plan to be near some water in the morning as I’m mostly recovered. Maybe I’ll see some otters! Either way, I’ll have a new story and image but if not, no worries—the archives are busting at the seams.

Thanks for looking,

Danny Brown

Email me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.Com

6 comments on “Ducks!”

  1. Wouldn’t duck this post for the world! 😀 Thank you for the beautiful images…the birds are all the better for being seen in the comfort of my home instead of with frozen feet, fingers and nose!

    • Thanks Deepa. I always look forward to hearing from you every week. Already looking forward to seeing you again next year!

  2. Beautiful shots of those Merganser Hen’s. I love the plumage on both of them. What patience, and perseverance, to get thoes shots. Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas to you Danny, and Joyce. I a,m looking forward to your next adventure.

    Art

    • Merry Christmas to you, Art. Mergansers are one of the best waterfowl but now I’m working on Trumpeter Swans.

  3. The detail on these pictures are beautiful! I love them all!


Leave a Reply

