Sunrise Grebe

September 10, 2014

A pied-billed grebe completes a nature frame at sunrise on a placid lake at August A. Busch Conservation Area. I was quite taken as this shy waterbird approached my hide during an ethereal moment when water and sky were struggling for equilibrium. Almost monochromatic, as was last week’s featured image, I found the scene to be a fine representation of the sublime beauty our state holds for those who take to the outdoors and open their senses.

I know some of you are unable to venture too deep into the woodlands, swamps and prairies, so I’ll continue, with great pleasure, to bring sweet Missouri moments into your home.

Thanks for looking,

Danny Brown

Email me at:  Natureframes@Rocketmail.Com

Pied-billed Grebe; 420 mm; 1/160 @ f 5.6; ISO 400; Av (Taken with borrowed Canon 7D while my Mark IV was down for a few weeks)

4 comments on “Sunrise Grebe”

  1. Sublime indeed. You made me feel the moment.

  2. I most recently looked up what pied meant, because of this species very name . As I could have guessed, it means having patches of two or more colors. Beautiful, peaceful and calming photo, Danny! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

