A Selection of Warblers from Tower Grove Park

May 21, 2014

Tower Grove Park gets its fair share of spring warblers and I’ve tried to photograph them as much as possible this year. I’ve made several trips to the park as part of a project I’m working on to photograph the birds and other critters of Tower Grover Park. The featured image is one of my favorite warblers, the American Redstart (700 mm; 1/160; f/5.6; ISO 400). I always call this species the Halloween bird. I think he looks great on this evergreen.

The second image is of a black and white warbler, which might just be my favorite warbler of all. You wouldn’t think that a black and white bird would be my favorite when you consider the rainbow of colors that can be found on other warblers, but I just love this species. They remind me of nuthatches the way they carry themselves in the branches. This bird was photographed in a basswood, which added interest to the image.

DJB_TGP_2014_0816Black and White Warbler; 700 mm; 1/100; f/5.6; ISO 400

The next warbler is a male Magnolia Warbler which eluded me for several trips. I don’t need to say much about the Magnolia; it is simply a magnificent bird. Although Tower Grove Park is a nice place to view warblers, it is still a challenge to photograph the tiny, nervous birds. I logged about 50 hours over several days, standing and staring into the brush and trees to get these shots.

DJB_TGP_2014_0820Magnolia Warbler; 700 mm; 1/125; f/5.6; ISO 400

Next is a female, chestnut-sided warbler. I would have liked to found a male but I think this female is quite beautiful. Her cap makes me think of brown mustard.

DJB_TGP_2014_0845Chestnut-sided Warbler; 700 mm; 1/50; f/5.6; ISO 400

How about this gorgeous Golden-winged Warbler? I only got one shutter click at this bird so I had to make it count. I never saw it again after that day but saw another one on the Lewis and Clark Trail at Weldon Spring later that week. How lucky was that?

DJB_TGP_2014_0664Golden-winged Warbler; 700 mm; 1/60; f/5.6; ISO 400

Finally, a Yellow-rumped Warbler that I photographed in late-winter. I’ve photographed several individuals of this species but this is the most striking male I’ve captured yet. I was lucky to get a sharp image at 1/30th of a second in the low light.

DJB_TGP_2014_0631Yellow-rumped Warbler; 700 mm; 1/30; f/5.6; ISO 400

I hope you’ve enjoyed this sampler of warblers from Tower Grove Park. They have been a joy to photograph and I can’t wait to share some of the others in later editions.

Thanks for looking,

Danny

Email me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.Com

 

10 comments on “A Selection of Warblers from Tower Grove Park”

  1. HI Danny,

    What gorgeous shots. Had no idea there is this variety of birds in the city. My favorite was the black and white warbler shot too. The lighting was so beautiful. As usual, thanks for making nature come alive with your marvelous eye. Happy day. Oh, and meant to tell you no problem at all with the photography contest. I completely understand.

    Best to Joyce,

    Chris

  2. Outstanding selection! Thanks Danny.

    Sent from my MUSKIE iPad http://www.muskiesinc.org/indy_files/mimag.html

  3. Hi Danny, I find it very hard to say which one of the Warblers is my favorite, I like them all. Each one is beautiful in there own right. However, I have to say that the little female Chestnut Side Warbler made me chuckle, with her Baseball Cap that she is wearing. Thanks again for sharing. I hope that you, and Joyce have a GREAT Memorial Day Weekend.

    Art

  4. Hi Danny, I really enjoyed the warbler photos. I know almost nothing about warblers, so I found these very interesting and sooooo pretty. I also like this month’s photo of the red fox with a double meal. If you haven’t done so already, you need to post the photo with the story behind the tender morsels. The red fox family near our house seldom show themselves, at least not when we are awake. They managed to bring down an adult Canada goose a couple of weeks ago and the bird’s bones were picked clean. I bet it was a growling feeding frenzy when the four pups joined the action. We have a goose family with 6 goslings that visit our pond almost daily from a nearby pond. I can’t figure out how the adults manage to keep the goslings alive. It seems the adult foxes could make a quick charge, kill a gosling, then retreat to the safety of their brushpile. Then later they could retrieve the tasty meal when the rest of the family moved on. Maybe they are waiting for the goslings to put on a little more meat to make the effort worthwhile?

    • Hi Phil — I wrote a story about that fox for Nature Frames right after I made the photo a couple of years ago. You can find it in the archives under mammals. Glad to hear you are getting plenty of wildlife sightings at your place. Take care.

  5. […] A Selection of Warblers from Tower Grove Park (dannybrownphotography.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

