Winter Wren or Feathered Mouse

April 23, 2014

I ran into a mouse the other day—or was it a bird? Yes, I knew it was a bird, a winter wren to be exact, but it sure seemed like a mouse the way it scurried about on the ground, disappearing beneath a pile of logs and emerging on the other side, its stubby tail perpetually upturned like a prairie chicken’s.

DJB_TGP_2014_0586

The main difference between the winter wren and a mouse is that a mouse occasionally stops for a moment to consider its situation, perhaps to contemplate the meaning of mouse life. The winter wren just keeps moving, apparently in an effort to encourage humility in wildlife photographers.

The challenge was to get my tripod, big lens, and 55-year-old body—me, not the camera— as low to the ground as possible to achieve a decent point of view and to get a shot off before the mini roadrunner raced away. I continued the process at least five times before I finally captured a few images that looked like keepers on the LCD of my Mark IV.

By the time I finished the job, my knees were a little sore and my neck was aching but I had my first ever images of a winter wren. As I departed the area, I looked back to see the tiny, feathered mouse continuing about its activities like I’d never been there, its signature tail standing proud as ever.

DB

Email me at:  Nature Frames@Rocketmail.Com

P.S.  Don’t forget, we’ll be having a small reception at Shaw Nature Reserve’s, Bascom House on Sunday, April 27, (4 – 6 p.m.) to provide a much belated kick-off to my exhibit, “The Creatures of Shaw Nature Reserve.” I hope to see some of you there.

 

12 comments on “Winter Wren or Feathered Mouse”

  1. “apparently to encourage humility in wildlife photographers” :D. Even more humility in those who are not successful in getting such good images at the end of it all! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Amazing that you could capture those little guys. They remind me of singing ping pong balls bouncing around the forest.

    • Ha…perfect description! See you Saturday, Steve. By the way, be prepared for next week’s post by taking your anti-cuteness medicine all week because the pictures will give you cuteness fever!!!!!

  3. I’m new to your blog as of today, referred by one of your owl loving friends named Brenda. The wren mouse pictures were well worth your effort. Very nice photographs.

    • Great to have you on board, Terry. Brenda has been a great friend and super spotter of critters for me to photograph. Thanks for checking in.

      DB

  4. And with all those challenges you even managed to capture the catch light in its eye. Well done Danny.

  5. Just subscribed to your blog and LOVE it. Thank you so much for sharing your amazing photos. And also, many thanks for telling us about the Cooper’s Hawks in Lafayette park. I just saw one this morning and was able to take a nice shot. Spotting wild life in the city parks always makes my day.
    My friend and I met you in Tower Grove on Monday and so appreciated that you took the time to show us some of your photos. That same day I saw you on PBS on Heartland!

  6. Hi Danny, Your Winter Wren/Mouse is a very snappy little dresser. I love the nickers, at least that’s what he reminds me of when I first viewed the frame.Very good image, and beautiful coloring in his feathers. Thanks for sharing. PS: Getting down close to the ground gracefully when you get older, doesn’t get any easier with age either. Something to look forward to.I hope you have a GREAT Weekend.

    Art


Leave a Reply

