“Canvas Sunrise” Busch Conservation Area

March 5, 2014

A couple weeks ago I was fortunate to be hiding at the edge of a lake at Busch Conservation Area when two canvasbacks landed at sunrise. I was working from a tip from my friend, Kevin Meneau, that the stunning drakes had been using the lake for a few days so I took a chance that they might return. It was bone-chillingly cold, as usual this winter, but the suffering paid off when the paddle-footed suspects landed just as the morning light cast an orange glow across the water. Normally, I would have preferred a more conventional shot than the featured silhouette but I loved the way the image accentuated the Roman profile of these stout waterfowl.

I’ve included a second image, taken later in the morning, which provides a more conventional look at the canvasbacks. I’ve rarely had a chance over the last seven years to photograph this species so I was thrilled when they approached me for a closer look.

DJB_BCA_2014_0173

The canvasback is not the finest of table ducks but it is beloved by most waterfowlers and birdwatchers. The bright red head, ruby eyes, sloping profile, and contrasting cream-colored and black body of this species makes it a joy to behold! I was in awe of their presence on that frigid Saturday morning.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.Com

6 comments on ““Canvas Sunrise” Busch Conservation Area”

  1. I really like the first one! Especially the color of the water and the fact that even with the silhouette you can still see the red eyes.

  2. “Table ducks” is a strange term to a vegetarian, but I love the flavour of the pictures 😀

  3. I like both shots Danny, of the two canvasback ducks, however, my favorite is the second frame, with there beautiful red heads, and piercing eyes. Thanks for sending.

    Art


Leave a Reply

