Ring-billed Gull Series

February 12, 2014

I rarely do a series of the same bird but this ring-billed gull gave me quite a show on Sunday afternoon as it extracted a large gizzard shad from the Mississippi River. I was only going to post two of the images but I showed several friends all four and each of them liked a different one. I finally decided to just post them all in the order that they were shot. The featured image (Image 1) shows the ringbill just as it is rising out of the river.

Image #2:  Lift-off!

DJB_CLK_2014_0131

Image #3:  A Look at the Photographer — You Can’t Have My Fish!

DJB_CLK_2014_0132

Image #4:  Fly-by with Prize — Show Off!

DJB_CLK_2014_0133

Whenever I’m shooting eagles, I sometimes notice that other photographers pay no attention to ring-billed gulls. I find them great photographic subjects as they are always catching fish, sometimes very close to the bank. They are also much larger than you might think and I even like their stark coloration, or lack thereof.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Email me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.com

Announcement:  I will have an exhibit at Shaw Nature Reserve beginning on March 1. I’m calling it “A Selection of Creatures from Shaw Nature Reserve.” It will include not only birds and mammals, but frogs, crayfish and other animals, as well. We will be having a reception with light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages on Sunday, March 2, from 2 to 4 p.m. I hope to see some of you at the reception and answer any questions you have about the prints I’ll be showing. The prints will be available for sale as well. The reception is free and open to the public.

6 comments on “Ring-billed Gull Series”

  1. Hi Danny,

    Yeah–a Danny exhibit. Spark and I will be there! Happy day.

    Chris Stuckenschneider Book Editor, Book Buzz Coordinator The Missourian 14 W. Main St. Washington, MO 63090 Cell, 314-808-1807

  2. Awesome images of Ring-billed Gull. What perfect timing you have. I saw the Gulls also up at the Winfield Lock- n- Dam, back in January. Did you take these shots at that location, as well? We also saw lots of Eagles at the time. Thanks for sharing.

    Art

  3. Great! I loved watching the Ring-billed gulls while on a trip at Lake Carlyle last September. Great shots!
    See you at the reception at Shaw, if not before. 🙂


Leave a Reply

