A Fawn’s First Snowfall

December 18, 2013

Friday (11:30 a.m.):  After nursing a cold all week I tell my friend Mike, between coughs, that I’m going home to get some rest. If I’m up to it, I will try for a shot of a white-tail in the predicted snowstorm for Saturday morning.

Friday (6:00 p.m.):  Joyce makes it home in the pouring rain and we have supper. I tell her about my plans for a white-tail in the snow shot. Still coughing and sneezing, I take two Alka-Seltzer Plus nighttime tablets and I’m sound a sleep by 7:00 p.m. My last words to Joyce are to wake me at 5:00 a.m.

Saturday (5:00 a.m.):  Joyce wakes me and gives me the news of a beautiful snow falling. I don’t even feel like getting up to look out the window and I tell her that my coughing will just scare the deer off anyway.

Saturday (6:00 a.m.):  Joyce tells me again how beautiful the snowfall is looking. I think I hear her say something about getting up and out for a snowy wildlife shot because “your fans depend on you.”

Saturday (6:15 a.m.):  I get up and take another Alka-Seltzer cocktail, this time the daytime version, to stop the coughing and I don my camo coveralls, pac boots and duck hunting coat. Joyce opens the door for me and I stumble out into the snow with my big rig over one shoulder and my turkey chair over the other.

Saturday (6:30 a.m.):  I plop down into my turkey chair under a favorite cedar tree, drape my tripod over my lap and point the big lens where I hope to see a deer. I cover the lens with scrap of polar fleece to protect it from the heavy, wet snow.

Saturday (7:30 a.m.):  An hour has passed. Nothing. Lens now completely covered with wet snow.

Saturday (8:00 a.m.)  I begin to doze, head bangs into back of camera.

Saturday (8:25 a.m.)  I awaken from a forgotten dream to see the flop-eared deer I’ve been watching for the past four years standing off to the left and out of range of my lens. I know she has a single fawn so I began scanning the tree line to find it.

Saturday (8:29 a.m.):  The fawn steps out of the woods and looks at mama. I place my eye to the viewfinder, only to find that it is totally fogged and iced over; I had been breathing across it during my nap. Dagnabbit!

Saturday (8:30 a.m.):  I frame the deer-shaped blob in my viewfinder and depend on the autofocus to dial in the fawn. I release the shutter and pray for a miracle. I check my snow/ice covered LCD to see if I have a good image and realize I don’t have my reading glasses. Oh well.

Saturday (9:00 a.m.):  It has stopped snowing and the show is over. No more deer. I begin a slow trudge back up the hill, just in time for the coughing to begin again.

Saturday (9:20 a.m.):  Joyce is waiting with coffee. Maybe she is feeling guilty. I check my camera’s memory card on the computer and I’m delighted to find a gem. I name it, “A Fawn’s First Snowfall.” All is well with the world.

Happy Holidays!

Contact me at:  NatureFrames@Rocketmail.com

8 comments on “A Fawn’s First Snowfall”

  1. Superb image, well worth all that coughing. There’s just onecorrection…I think you began “dozing”…you’d already been “dosing” yourself with Alka Seltzer cocktails! Hope you are better now, and are looking out at the world from inside a warm home!

  2. One shot, one miracle. Very nice photo and equally nice story to go with it.

    • Thanks Dave. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your trip tomorrow from the guys. Take care.

  3. Joyce is right , your fans depend on you!!! Thinking if I was her I would have gone back to bed….wink..
    Happy Holidays and Thank you Danny and Joyce..

  4. You are quite the Tropper Danny. I know that it was a very big effort to go out in that kind of weather, especially when you were felling rotten. BRAVO to you . Great shot. Merry Christmas to you, and Joyce.

    Art


Leave a Reply

