Forest Park Ducklings

August 8, 2013

I took an early-morning hike at Forest Park last Sunday and covered a lot of new ground including the Steinberg Prairie. Thanks to Brenda Hente for the suggestion because I ran across a great variety of wildlife and enjoyed seeing new territory in the park. I’ve only been to Forest Park a few times this summer because I’ve found it too frustrating to deal with the weekend running/walking events. I finally solved the problem by finding a website that keeps track of all upcoming runs at Forest Park, and other parks in St. Louis, so now I can choose the weekend days when the park will be less crowded and I won’t have to worry about my Chevy truck being sequestered behind barricades for much of the morning.

As I reviewed the images from my visit to the park, I decided that the nicest, and certainly the cutest, frames were of some ducklings that had set up housekeeping, along with mama of course, in the reflection pool below the World’s Fair Pavilion. I could have watched those babies swim around all day as their nervous mother made various squeaking noises to herd them in her direction. I found a comfortable viewpoint at the base of the hill with the sun behind my back and just sat with my tripod draped across my lap, waiting for opportunities.

I never know for sure how well my weekly photo essays will go over, but I’m confident that many of you will appreciate this one because let’s face it; ducklings are just about the sweetest little creatures a person will ever see in nature. The featured post is mallard duckling with natural coloration and the second image is of a fussy baby crying for mama. I think the second duckling might have had a few domestic genes in the mixing bowl but who knows. Either way, the little fella is as cute as can be.

DJB_FP_2013_0866

Please enjoy this edition of Nature Frames from a not-so-natural body of water in St. Louis’ magnificent Forest Park.

Thanks for looking,

DB

Mallard Duckling: Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens; 1/1000 @ f/8.0; ISO 400; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II; converted and processed in Canon DPP

Mallard Duckling in Mid-Quack: Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens; 1/320 @ f/8.0; ISO 400; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II; converted and processed in Canon DPP

*****************************************************

Note to Photographers: I’ll be giving a workshop on wildlife photography at Shaw Nature Reserve on January 11, 2014. You can register here. The class will last about three hours and there will not be a field portion.

14 comments on “Forest Park Ducklings”

  1. D (for Duck)lightful! 🙂

  2. Too cute! Thanks for the shout out! I stopped by and watched these little guys last night. They were so adorable diving down to the bottom of the pool and popping back up! Definitely a show stopper! I love the water droplets on the first little duckling image! Thanks for sharing these with us. Your captures never cease to amaze me!

  3. She’s so cute………

  4. Beautiful! I love surface water shots where the nuances of reflections and currents are captured in a way that enhances the primary subject.

  5. Those ducklings may be cute but your images show off all their great features. Great stuff.

  6. Love all your posts.

    Sent from my iPad

  7. They are very sweet. I love the droplets of water on the downy soft feathers.


Leave a Reply

