Eastern Kingbird

September 22, 2012

Joyce and I were over an hour into a late-afternoon hike at Shaw Nature Reserve and I had yet to click the shutter. “This is why I prefer hiking in the morning,” I grumbled. About that time I spotted an eastern kingbird on a charred stem out on the prairie. I whispered to Joyce that my luck might be changing and I began my usual approach which involved a casual saunter in a diagonal direction. I also fashioned a look on my face that  said, “I’m not interested in you, ya dumb bird.” Somehow, in spite of my goofy technique, the regal kingbird stood fast and began preening as I closed the gap. When I finally clicked the shutter I was so pleased at the result on my LCD I had to give Joyce a high five, albeit a virtual one because she was 50 meters away, back on the trail. I loved the image because the kingbird’s feathers were fluffed enough to reveal their fine white edging, and the prairie background, which was melted to butter by my long lens, was a sumptuous green in the waning light. After that moment, everything else became icing on the cake and if the truth be known, I put away my camera and finished the hike like a “normal” person, just taking in the sights, sounds and smells of the prairie……..not!

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens with Canon 1.4x TC II; 1/250 sec @ f/5.6; ISO 200; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley Head; Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP)

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

8 comments on “Eastern Kingbird”

  1. The descriptions (“background melting to butter”) were as beautiful as the image. Another bird I’ve often seen, and can relate to, apart from appreciating the image!

  2. Perfect!

  3. A favorite among our grassland bird, because so reliable and visible, even without binoculars or a long lens. Nice work bringing him in a little closer!

  4. Great shot! I love the virtual high five.


Leave a Reply

