Summer Beauty

September 15, 2012

This post features an image of an outstanding young buck I ran into this summer. I posted an image of the beast on my Facebook page about a month ago but I know some of you don’t do the Facebook thing and might have missed it. It has been a while since I photographed this 8-pointer in his red summer coat and velvet antlers and I’m looking forward to seeing him again this fall as his neck swells for the rut. I’ve enjoyed watching this animal over the summer as he interacts with fawns in the area, usually paying them little attention as they frolic right beneath his feet. Missouri whitetails have had a stressful summer with all of the heat and drought so I was pleased to see this healthy specimen.

This morning I headed over to the Blue Springs branch on the Meramec River where I sat in my turkey chair from before daylight until about 10:00 a.m. and never fired a shot. I was hoping for an otter or a coyote but it was a dead morning. Fortunately, it was cloudy, cool and perfect as are most fall (almost fall) mornings in Missouri. Tomorrow I’m going to try for some squirrels that have been hauling and caching walnuts. I think a squirrel with a big fat walnut would be a cute shot. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

I finally saw my first monarch butterfly at Forest Park yesterday. They are really running late this year and I doubt we’ll see very many of them. Maybe I can finally find a few larvae for our friend Laurie who does a monarch life cycle unit each year with her students. I’ve been checking the milkweed in our fields every couple of days to no avail.

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens with 1.4 TC II; 1/125 sec @ f/5.6; ISO 400; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Head; Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP) 

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

4 comments on “Summer Beauty”

  1. Margit and I just got back from Big Cedar. We thought about you while taking a 6 mile walk into Arkansas thru Dogwood Canyon. They have improved the canyon, paths, bridges, stream embankments and activities offered. We felt sure you have been there B4, but you might find a return trip valuable. On trips there we have seen deer, ground hog, snakes, turtles, frogs, Blue Heron, rainbow and gold trout, and 3 crows chasing a Red Tail Hawk out of their territory. They may have taken away something to eat the hawk captured.

    • Hey Randy — Sorry I missed your message; WordPress sent it to Spam for some reason. Thanks for the heads up on Big Cedar. I’ve never been there but now I really want to go because it sounds like some easy wildlife photography pickin’s and Joyce will have a very comfy place to stay. I’ll let you know how it goes.

      DB

  2. I didn’t miss the FB posting,but it’s nice to see a handsome young man once again! Looking forward to further images of this buck…and thank you for “passing the buck” along to us!

  3. Hi Danny. What a beautiful camera shot of that 8 pointer. I love to see the velvet on a Big Buck’s Rack. Thank’ for sharing. Maybe I will see one like it this, come November , or Bigger.

    Art


Leave a Reply

