Cute Alert! Prairie Pup

September 11, 2012

This will be my last mid-week post as we get into the fall season. I’ll continue to post once a week, usually on Sunday afternoon like I used to with the email version. Don’t be surprised if I throw in a bonus post once in a while in the middle of the week because sometimes I just can’t wait to share something!

In case you are wondering about this image, I admit that I didn’t capture it in Missouri but that’s the great thing about having your own blog; you can violate your own rules. I posted several images of these baby black-tailed prairie dogs in my email newsletter this past summer but I wanted to share one more in the new Nature Frames blog format. They were the cutest little rascals I’d ever seen and sometimes I was so fascinated just watching them that I forgot to take a picture. The location was the incredible Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge in southern Oklahoma, darn near the Texas border. We only spent two and a half days there so I’ll definitely be planning a return trip. Please enjoy this image of a baby prairie dog who ventured away from its siblings and mama to try a new snack. This was the very last image I took on the trip.

Canon 1DMarkIV; Canon 500/4 L IS; 1/400 @ f/5.6; ISO 400; Aperture Priority; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Head; Converted and Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP)

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

P.S. I’ve switched my browser from Internet Explorer to Google Chrome in an attempt to make the transfer to email smoother for those of you who follow the blog. I noticed some weird anomalies in the text of the last edition, at least in my email. Progress as promised!

********************************************

Thinking of those who perished on

September 11, 2001

5 comments on “Cute Alert! Prairie Pup”

  1. Thanks for all of the sharing you do here and in the Conservationist magazine.

    I continue to be inspired by your photography to get out and work on my own skills.

    Bill

  2. To see the sky reflected in the pup’s eye…how far away were you? Was the pup without fear? I have learnt love the “un-cute” creatures as well, but high CQ (Cuteness Quotient) works great, and brings a huge smile to my face early this Wednesday morning in Bangalore(it’s still Tuesday night for you, I guess.) Greetings from the future! :)))

    • Yes, just about bedtime here. Some of the prairie dog pups were pretty fearless but I was still pretty far but remember what lens I’m using. I’m like you; I love all creatures great and small, cute and not-so-cute.

  3. Hi Danny, I am just getting the time to view my E-Mail, and discovered your photo on that cute Praire Pup. What a great shot. Its so clear. You must have been pretty close to get that shot. I cant wait for what’s coming next. I hope you have a GREAT weekend.

    Art


Leave a Reply

