Teal Kick-Off

September 7, 2012

Teal season starts in the morning so I’m posting an image of a blue-winged teal to kick things off. Most of my duck hunting goes on in the spring, with a camera of course, so the teal I’m posting is in spring plumage. I don’t think my hunting buddies will be seeing a teal that is as showy as this drake, especially with his lavender head band, but that won’t make the hunting any less exciting or the grilled kabobs any less tasty.The teal opener is as sure of a sign that fall is almost here as anything, except for maybe fall turkey season.

Speaking of autumn, we are supposed to get a taste of dry, cool weather in Missouri this weekend and I’m beside myself as it has been a dismal summer. Somehow I managed to capture dozens of keeper shots during those hot, miserable days and I will get them posted sooner or later. Right now, I’m thinking about doing a little camping and making some landscape images of some of our natural areas but I’m never too far from my 500mm lens, which always takes precedence when it comes time for shutter clicking. Actually, the best way for me to get a nice landscape is to force myself to leave the beast at home in its case! Perhaps I should consider doing more landscapes anyway as my image of the silky riffle at Maramec Springs received three times more views than the next closest wildlife image…….smile. Either way, I’ll be sure to share some of my favorites with all of you; that’s what makes it all worthwhile.

Canon 1DMarkIV; Canon 500/4 L IS with 1.4 TC II; 1/250 sec @ f/5.6; Aperture Priority; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley Head; Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP)

Thanks for Looking and Happy Teal Hunting!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

Leave a Reply

