Frog on a Lily Pad

August 24, 2012

Recently I was working the Missouri Conservation Department booth at the Black Expo in St. Louis when a lady dropped by and struck up a conversation about frogs. She had noticed the frog on the cover of the Missouri Conservationist that was displayed at our station and she mentioned that she had been observing frogs sitting on lily pads at a pond in Tower Grove Park. I told her I’d been trying to get an image of a frog on a lily pad for years but I could never seem to find one. I have the same problem finding morel mushrooms. The helpful lady encouraged me to try again by scanning the pads more methodically, kind of like glassing a field for whitetail.

A few days later, I went to one of my favorite lily ponds, sat at water’s edge and followed the directions of my new acquaintance. After almost 30 minutes I still hadn’t found a single frog on a lily pad. I saw several  frogs in the water but none on a photogenic lily pedestal. I was about to give up when I decided to conduct one last scan of the pads. I slowly panned my lens across the sea of lilies when voila, a juvenile green frog appeared in my field of view! Soon after I began photographing I realized that I had missed several other frogs, one about half the size of the one in this post. My femme frog loving friend was right! The little leapers had always been there but I had not used the proper survey technique to locate them. I wish I would have written her email or phone number down so I could thank her, but Joyce tends to discourage me from writing down emails and phone numbers of all of the nice women I meet — smile!

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens with Canon 1.4 TC II Teleconverter; 1/100 sec @ f/5.6; ISO 400; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Head

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

5 comments on “Frog on a Lily Pad”

  1. Glad that you met a frog princess….you got this lovely image!

  2. After seeing your beautiful photographs at Powder Valley my husband and I walked through Marais Temps Claire. We didn’t know it existed even though we are avid local hikers. I took lots of pictures, there are many lily pads there. When I downloaded the photographs lo and behold a frog on a lily pad was there as well. I would never have seen it with my naked eye. My photograph pales in comparison to yours but your blog seems to feature what I am finding in nature week by week. Thank you for sharing so much with us.

    • Hi Anne: Your comments are music to my ears and I’m so glad my narratives and images are helping you to find new adventures in the St. Louis area.

      DB

  3. Hi Danny, thank you for sending me that super shot of the Prince, sitting on a Lily Pad. I am sure that it was not a easy shot to get, since frogs in general, are very illusive. I have been busy getting my new computer on line, since my old one fried. I hope that you have a good week ahead. I am back on the road.this week. Stay well.

    Art

    On Fri, Aug 24, 2012 at 7:11 PM, Nature Frames


Leave a Reply

