The Gray Fox’s Mate

By: Danny Brown

Aug 10 2012

Tags: , , ,

Category: Mammals

4 Comments

August 10, 2012

In this edition, I’m sharing an image of the mate of the gray fox that I posted several weeks ago (see “Gray Fox” post in July archives). I think this one is the female but I can’t be sure. Take a look at the face on this specimen and then arrow back to the first post to see how different the two foxes look. Both are beautiful but the first is a bit more striking while this one is sweeter looking, in my opinion. This fox has more rounded facial features and doesn’t have as much of a rufous neck scarf as the other.

Krista and Matt have seen a few of the kits, which finally made an appearance, but I still haven’t been lucky enough to spot them or photograph them. If I make contact in the future, I’ll share an image of the young foxes with you. Images of gray fox kits are quite rare in Missouri so I’ll be pretty happy to get even one. In the meantime, enjoy this image of the “Gray Fox’s Mate.”

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens; 1/80 sec @ f/4; ISO 400; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Gimbal Head; Processed in Canon DPP

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

4 comments on “The Gray Fox’s Mate”

  1. Thank’s for sharing Danny. That has to be the female, because she has that certain look about her, like I am in control, he just doesn’t know it. I hope you have a great weekend . I have a house full, with my daughter, son-in law, and three screaming granddaughters, 5 and younger. I need to go Deer hunting, or fishing, to get some piece- n -quite. Beam me up Scotty.

    Art

    On Fri, Aug 10, 2012 at 7:08 PM, Nature Frames

    • Sounds like a weekend of family fun! I’ve seen most of the clan on your Facebook page. Take care Art.

  2. Those eyes! That fur! Another incredibly beautiful image from you. And I love the fact that you have a full and noisy house! Piece’n’quite indeed!

    • Thanks Deepa…she is a true beauty for sure. And “ha” on the full and noisy house; that is actually my friend Art, who also happens to be the man with the barred owls in his back yard that I photographed last summer. My house is rarely full and noisy and when it is, I usually find work to do elsewhere and let Joyce deal with it. Ha!!!


Leave a Reply

