Walking Through the Jungle

August 7, 2012

Walking through a recently mown field is like walking through the jungle for an 18-hour old killdeer. Here is a new release of a baby killdeer I photographed last summer. The little fella was less than a day old and already on its own when I captured this image. Baby killdeers are difficult to photograph because they typically scatter soon after they hatch so you almost have to be at the scene for the big event to get a picture. Thanks to Jake Meneau for keeping me apprised of the status of a nest near his home. He called me as soon as he discovered the hatching and I zoomed over to his place to try for a shot. I really wanted an image of mama and one or more of the three babies together but I soon learned that mama stayed clear of the babies to avoid attracting attention. Also, the babies rarely came in contact with each other so I had to go for some nice solo shots.

When I arrived at the Meneau ranch the early-afternoon light was still harsh so we all sat on the front porch and drank a few brews, except young Jake, who drank lemonade. It was hard to wait for softer light but I knew I might only get one chance at the babies so I held fast. When the time finally came I made it out into the field and began capturing images from a prone position. The great thing about platform tripods (no column) is that you can flatten them on the ground if necessary. This is one of my favorite images from that afternoon. As you can see, baby killdeers are all head, which is one of the characteristics that makes them so cute.

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens with Canon 1.4 TC II Extender; 1/250 sec @ f/6.3; ISO 200; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Gimbal Head; Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP)

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery: www.dannybrownphotography.com

3 comments on “Walking Through the Jungle”

  1. OOOh! I didn’t know it was such a tough deal to get baby Kildeer…I did see some babies scattering in Forest Park, but thought nothing of it! I like all the information you give along with your images…One day I hope to be able to see many images that you don’t post, but which will be equally interesting to me!

  2. This is so adorable! Thank you so much, Danny, for showing me so many beautiful things I am not likely to see on my own.

    • You are welcome, Kate, and thanks for your nice comments. I was going to say it is better to “see” them on your own but they usually look better in my images anyway! Just kidding. Take care.


Leave a Reply

