Summer Buck

July 27, 2012

White-tailed deer are not at the forefront of most Missourian’s minds in the middle of the summer but I never turn down an opportunity to photograph a buck in velvet. Just such an opportunity fell into my lap during one of my morning pond visits last weekend when this little 8-pointer emerged from the woods for a few moments to sniff the air. I was sitting in my turkey chair facing across the pond toward the hillside leading back to the house. As you can see, the buck is wearing its reddish-brown summer coat which will be replaced later in the fall by a thicker coat of brownish-gray. If the image looks a little dull in color and contrast, keep in mind that it was captured at 6:01 a.m. in the lowest of light. I was actually happy to see that my camera captured the early-morning feel of the scene, just as I saw it through the cloud of mosquitos around my hide. I was surprised to see the buck, considering that I was covered with pungent bug spray. Thank goodness for prevailing breezes in my favor for once.

I’ll continue to watch for this deer as its antler growth continues. Typically, antlers stop growing in late-August when the velvet begins to dry up and the antlers harden. I’ll also be watching for a larger buck that I observed a few weeks ago and I’ll be eager to photograph his plush rack of 10 points sometime before deer season.

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS Lens; 1/60 sec @ f/4.0; ISO 800; RAW Capture; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Head; Processed in Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP)

Thanks for Looking!

DB

Gallery:  www.dannybrownphotography.com

4 comments on “Summer Buck”

  1. Wow, what a photograph! You have got the early-morning feel so well, and thankfully, not the mosquitoes….I realize it’s still quite hot in Missouri. I’m back in cool, cloudy monsoony Bangalore and taking a bunch of schoolchildren on a nature trail tomorrow…but meanwhile, I lost my SX30 yesterday…. :(((((

    • Yes, still very hot here, over a hundred today. I’ve been shooting at a nearby spring branch with lots of fawns and birds. Images to come soon.

  2. I like how the foreground vegetation burt orange color blends into the deer. Makes for a mystic like image as if the deer ismaterializing out of the ground. Isn’t nature’s camoflage great?

    • You are so right Dave. I’m always amazed at how animals blend in with nature, even at different times of the year. On another note, I just got back from photographing a big buck about an hour from here. I can’t wait to show him to you as he is amazing for an 8-pointer and still in perfect velvet. Take care.


Leave a Reply

