Wildlife at the Pond

July 14, 2012

It’s been hot and dry here in Missouri for weeks so I recently headed down to our pond to check out the wildlife situation. As expected, I found a variety of wildlife, including warblers, green herons, squirrels, rabbits, deer, turkey, and even a cedar waxwing drinking at the little watering hole. At first I was excited at the prospect of so many photographic opportunities but then I began to notice that some of the turkeys I had flushed were already returning for a drink of water. They must have been very thirsty due to the drought. I decided to avoid the pond in future afternoons so the turkeys and their poults could drink without interruption before roosting time. I didn’t have to worry about missing out on any fishing because we had a total fish kill about six summers ago during similar weather. “How can he be sure the fish kill was complete?” you might wonder. The presence of hundreds of newts drifting lazily across the water reveals the answer to that question. The newts might not have to worry about fish but they still have to keep their eyes open for green herons! I’m still trying to get the perfect image of that interaction.

Before I departed the quarter-acre oasis that hot afternoon, I grabbed a quick image of a fawn right after it watered. It was a real cutie and it gave me a nice look at its spots along with a sweet head turn. It had a sibling but I was so close I could hardly get them both in the same frame with my 500mm lens. Thanks for looking.

Canon 1D Mark IV; Canon 500/4 L IS; 1/400 sec @ f/6.3; ISO 200; Gitzo GT3530LS Tripod with Wimberley II Head; Converted and Processed in Canon DPP

DB

Gallerywww.dannybrownphotography.com

Leave a Reply

